Clouded Line IV

gene candeloro
8 min readAug 1, 2020

Some times what we write and what we live becomes confused

gene candeloro

Dec 14, 2019 · 7 min read

Photo by David Moum on Unsplash

Sometimes the line between what we write and what we live becomes clouded.

This is #IV in The Clouded the Line Series. Please see I and II & III

I arrived at work about 15 minutes before my shift. I got briefed by my boss about what he needed from me. I have been a lead bartender here at the Cotton Room in downtown Durham for well over two years. I have gained the respect of all bosses and owners. I often run the entire show whenever my manager needs me. He is an unbelievable man and a model to all.

He told me the event tonight was a big fundraiser with some big-time city people. “I’ve put you on the back bar; you should get good action there. Oh, and I’m assigning a new girl with you tonight. Keep your eye on her.”

I often was the new bartender trainer and it was a job I surely enjoyed. I just hoped she was a cutie. I love listening to these ‘today’ women and love their stories. They certainly aren’t the same women I knew in my 20s.

--

--

gene candeloro

Writer, photog., wanderer. Hopeful romantic. Lover of all things dogs. I write about ordinary people. Follow my Relentless Pursuit. Medium Noteworthy Writer.